First create your site in Publii, when it is ready, just provide the “server” details, that’s it. If you use the same “netlify site”, your existing files will be replaced with new ones. Therefore, it will be safer when you create a new “netlify site”.
Do you appreciate the support you've received today? If so, consider donating to the Publii team by clicking here; we'll be sure to use your donation to make Publii even better!