Sign in

How to save FTP settings with backup

  • This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 month, 3 weeks ago by .
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #9265
    Avatar photojfrere

    Hi, we are a couple of people working on the same Publii website. Once someone has finished working on it, one does a backup on our shared server folder, and the other delete the website on his Publii instance, and import the backup. Everything works fine, except you have to install the same plugins manually, because they’re not part of the backup.

    We also need to insert the FTP settings after each backup restoration. Is there a way to backup the FTP settings? I get it that for security matter, the password can’t be stored, but what about the other settings? Server, server path…

    Thank you

    Julien

    #9271
    Avatar photoTomasz Dziuda

    Hi,

    I think that your workflow is a little bit wrong – instead of deleting the whole website, you should just put the backup in the specific website backup folder and then restore it from Tools -> backups.

    During cloning/restoring website from backup we reset all deployment data, because many of them contains references to safe password storages.

    But if you restore backup of website instead of deleting the website and restoring it as a new website – deployment data should stay safe.

    --
    Do you appreciate the support you've received today? If so, consider donating to the Publii team by clicking here; we'll be sure to use your donation to make Publii even better!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.